top of page
Search
  • Bailey Porras

Cannabis Laws and Possession Limits in Mississippi


Medical marijuana is legal in Mississippi, but recreational use remains illegal in the Magnolia State. If you don’t already have your medical cannabis card, just give us a call and we will help you!


In this blog, we will discuss the fines and penalties for different types of marijuana offenses in Mississippi.


Possession in Mississippi

In the Magnolia State, the possession of up to 30 grams of marijuana is a civil offense. The first conviction will carry a fine of $250. The fine for a second offense is the same fine plus a mandatory 5-60 day jail sentence. After that, the fine goes up to a maximum of $1,000.


Possession of more than 30 grams of cannabis is a felony in Mississippi. The penalty for this is anywhere between 1 and 3 years in federal prison. The fine will be up to $1,000 for between 30 and 250 grams of cannabis.


If a person is caught carrying between 250-500 grams of cannabis, the sentence will be between 2 and 8 years in jail and the fine can be up to $50,000. Those caught with between 500 grams and 1 kilogram of cannabis face 4-16 years in prison and up to $250,000 in fines.


Intent to Distribute

Possession is one thing, but possession with intent to distribute is a whole other animal. Anyone who possesses less than 30 grams of cannabis with an intent to distribute is on the hook for up to 3 years in jail and a fine of up to $3,000.


Between 30 and 250 grams of cannabis, the punishment is up to 5 years in jail and a maximum fine of $5,000. Persons with between 250-500 grams with an intent to distribute face anywhere from 3-10 years and up to $15,000 in fines.


Sale of Marijuana

It is currently considered a felony to sell any amount of cannabis in Mississippi. The sale of less than 30 grams carries a maximum sentence of 3 years in prison and up to $3,000 in fines.


A sale of between 30 and 250 grams carries fines of up to $5,000 and a maximum of 5 years in prison. Between 250 and 500 grams carries a sentence of between 3 to 10 years and a fine of up to $15,000.


The penalties and fines continue to increase from there.


Get Your Medical Marijuana Card Today

Finally, patients with their medical marijuana card have access to dispensaries! The program continues to grow each day as more people are recommended cannabis for their qualifying condition.


Schedule a medical marijuana evaluation online today with one of our compassionate, qualified physicians, and we’ll book an appointment for you just as soon as Mississippi’s medical marijuana market is up and running.


You’ll meet with your new doctor and learn what medical marijuana might do for you. Act soon to find out if you qualify for a Mississippi Marijuana Card.


 

Doctors Who Care.

Relief You Can Trust.


Helping you find health and wellness through safe and convenient access to medical marijuana is our primary goal at Mississippi Marijuana Card. We’re working hard to educate advocates and cynics alike about the unique benefits medical cannabis can offer, building an accessible informational library of all things Mississippi and medical marijuana in the process.


If you have any questions, we’re ready to answer them. Call us at (833) 781-6635, or simply reserve a medical marijuana evaluation!

11 views0 comments
bottom of page