How Much Is Too Much Cannabis: Legal Restrictions on Marijuana Possession in Mississippi
Earlier this year, Mississippi became the 37th state to legalize medical cannabis, based on a poll conducted back in 2020 in which 69% of the state’s voters said they favored the introduction of a medical marijuana program.
Although cannabis has been decriminalized in the State of Mississippi, there are still a few restrictions when it comes to buying, selling, and general possession of marijuana.
First of all, no, marijuana is not legal recreationally in the State of Mississippi, yet. There is no timeline of when that may happen. For now, enjoy your regulated, safe, natural cannabis from dispensaries when you get your very own medical marijuana card.
There are laws regarding how much cannabis you can legally possess in the State of Mississippi. Here is information showing maximum penalties and fines for these types of offenses:
30 g or less (first offense) - $250 max fine
30 g or less (second offense) - Misdemeanor, 5-60 days incarceration, $250 max fine
30 g or less (third offense) - Misdemeanor, 5-60 months incarceration, $1,000 max fine
30 g - 250 g - Felony, 1-3 years incarceration, $1,000 max fine
250 - 500 g- Felony, 2-8 years, $50,000 max fine
500 g - 1 kg- Felony, 4-16 years, $250,000 max fine
1 - 5 kg- Felony, 6-24 years, $500,000 max fine
5 kg or more- Felony, 10-30 years, $1,000,000 max fine
30 g or less in any part of a vehicle besides the trunk- Misdemeanor, 90 years, $1,000 max fine
Sale of Cannabis
Up to 30 g- Felony, 3 years, $3,000 max fine
30 - 250 g- Felony, 5 years, $5,000 max fine
250 - 500 g- Felony, 3-10 years, $15,000 max fine
5 g or more- Felony, 5-20 years, $20,000 max fine
To a minor or within 1500 feet of a school, church, or other designated area is a felony that carries double incarceration period and fines.
Although marijuana has been decriminalized to some extent in Mississippi, you can still get in trouble for things like this. A lot of the time, first offenses like possession of a small amount of cannabis will not be charged.
Just make sure you know exactly what is legal and what’s not. It’s helpful to take a look at fines and possible jail time for these offenses, so you know what not to do.
Thankfully, if you have your medical marijuana card, you will be doing it the legal way, while getting relief for your qualifying condition!
Reserve an Appointment Today!
Reserve a medical marijuana evaluation online today with one of our compassionate, qualified physicians, and we’ll book an appointment for you just as soon as Mississippi’s medical marijuana market is up and running.
You’ll meet with your new doctor and learn what medical marijuana might do for you. Act soon to find out if you qualify for a Mississippi Marijuana Card. You’ll even save $25 off the cost of the evaluation!
Doctors Who Care.
Relief You Can Trust.
Helping you find health and wellness through safe and convenient access to medical marijuana is our primary goal at Mississippi Marijuana Card. We’re working hard to educate advocates and cynics alike about the unique benefits medical cannabis can offer, building an accessible informational library of all things Mississippi and medical marijuana in the process.
If you have any questions, we’re ready to answer them. Call us at (833) 781-6635, or simply reserve a medical marijuana evaluation!